I had to write a song with place names in it for uni. This is it:

Hull, I Love You, But…

 

Hull, I hope you’re not too jealous, I’ve been cheating on you

Under tangerine skies, my heart’s gone askew

Loneliness forced me to have this affair

Leaving you for Beijing’s the cross I have to bear

 

Course I made a pass at New York, that beauty stole my heart

Ipswich took my fancy, oh God, I’m such a tart

Then Warsaw bowled me over, but she was bloody cold

You know I’d never leave you or fold for her fool’s gold

 

Now I’m half the world away, wondering what I’m gonna say

To you, ooh ooh

It’s all coming out wrong, but I never meant do this

To you, ooh ooh

 

I’ve been with Prague, Tokyo, Doncaster and Crewe

London turned my head, but I only thought of you

Offhanded one-night stands, at random sometimes for a week

Veered a bit in Manchester; now we barely even speak

 

Exeter and Amsterdam both tried it on with me

Yeovil flirted shamelessly, but had nothing on Dundee

Only thoughts of home in those moments in the past

Understand that Beijing answered questions that you never asked

 

Now I’m half the world away, wondering what I’m gonna say

To you, ooh ooh

Believe me when I say, I never meant to do this

To you, ooh ooh

 

